Double Taxation Agreement Uk Portugal

We can provide current and historical tax rates, comparison tables and country surveys through our specialized tax databases. We have current key summaries and detailed analysis of the tax system in countries around the world on corporate taxation, individual taxation, business and investment. Portugal has so far signed double taxation agreements with South Africa, Germany, Algeria, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Canada, Chile, China, Cyprus, Colombia, Korea, Cuba, Denmark, United Arab Emirates, Slovenia, Spain, United States of America, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Guinea-Bissau, Netherlands, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, , Pakistan , Peru, Poland, Qatar, Great Britain, Czech Republic, Czech Republic, Republic of Moldova, Slovak Republic, Republic of Uruguay, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Timor-Leste, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela. From the point of view of national tax legislation, in parallel with international tax legislation, it should be noted that the provisions agreed in bilateral tax treaties prevail over the provisions of domestic law in the event of conflict. The Convention on the Prevention of Double Taxation will apply primarily to national law where a non-resident subject meets the application of the convention. In this case, the State of residence is solely responsible for the taxation of the resident`s income, including income collected in the state in the territory from which the subject is foreign to the territory. The double taxation agreement between the United Kingdom and Portugal is extremely successful. To help you navigate the details we interviewed Jeremiah, our expatriate accountant and tax planning specialist, who answered most of the FAQ questions posed by British expat entrepreneurs like you. On the other hand, the exception to this mandatory rule is the situation in which the non-resident does not meet the conditions set out in a bilateral agreement or where such an agreement does not exist, so that only the State of origin (in which the income obtained is taxable) applies internal tax policy to the income of non-residents operating on its territory.